Chakra Meditation

Chakra Meditation

In this day and age, meditation is becoming a tool for us to achieve a well-balanced physical, mental and spiritual health. Chakra meditation is arguably the most popular type of meditation that western culture has shown interest in. This is attributed to the fact that chakra meditation is simple and, at the same time, effective in relieving our everyday stress.

The idea behind chakra meditation is understandable. Buddhists have always believed that the human body is governed by seven energy centers known as chakras. To achieve a sound mind, body and spirit, the energy flow throughout the body has to be balanced. This means that during meditation, you have to concentrate on each of the chakras, allowing energy to flow throughout your whole body. But before we get into that any further, here are the seven chakras and how each governs our physical, mental and spiritual self:

1. The Crown Chakra – This is located at the top of your head. It governs our thoughts, providing us with wisdom, knowledge, and the development of our consciousness.

2. The Third Eye Chakra – This energy center relates to the power of light which gives us the power of visualization and perception. It is located in between our eyebrows.

3. The Throat Chakra – Found at the base of the throat, this chakra relates to the elements of sound. It governs our communication ability and our creative endeavors.

4. The Heart Chakra – This governs our compassion and capacity for love and relationships. It is related to the element of air and is located at the center of the chest, close to the heart.

5. The Solar Plexus Chakra – It is also known as the power chakra simply because it governs our will power and metabolism. It is located on top of the navel, just below the rib cage. It relates to the element of fire.

6. The Sacral Chakra – This is responsible for our creative impulses. It governs physical love and our generative organs. It is located just below the navel.

7. The Root Chakra – This is considered as the first chakra and is located at the base of the spine. This chakra is responsible for our physical health, in general, as well as security and prosperity. It relates to the element of earth.

Again, these energy centers have to be properly aligned and well-balanced for you to achieve a healthy lifestyle—physically, mentally, and spiritually. There are techniques to do this. The first technique is grounding. The aim here is to be physically and spiritually connected to the earth. What you should do is to sit or lie comfortably, close your eyes and visualize a root growing out from your body, seeping into the ground beneath you. You have to be extremely focused while doing this technique for it to be successful.

Another technique is centering. What you need to do is to take a few deep breaths in order for you to achieve the proper breathing. Every time you breathe, try to tighten each and every part of your body and then loosen and relax them afterwards. Do this from the bottom to top. Try to visualize your self doing this relaxation. After doing this, imagine a piece of pottery being centered on a potter’s wheel.

The last technique in chakra meditation is the relaxation technique which taps directly on the energy centers of the body. This may take but longer, twenty minutes of relaxation time being the minimum duration, but it is considered to be one of the most effective and easiest to follow among the three techniques. All you have to do is to relax yourself. You can either sit or lie down as you close your eyes. The important thing is to remove any external stimuli so that you can concentrate on your energy centers. Again, you only need to breathe naturally and let all distracting thoughts flow throughout your body naturally. The body shall find its way to achieve its natural state, allowing you to deepen this meditation.

Now start your concentration with your Root Chakra and imagine it exuding a vibrant red energy field. Feel safe and grounded while doing this. Imagine this energy rising up to your Sacral Chakra. As it fills out the area with energy, imagine the color turning into orange. From here on, concentrate on feeling attractive and sensual. Take your energy upward to the Solar Plexus Chakra, imagine the color becoming yellow here. Feel powerful and vital while the energy fills the area until it goes up your chest towards your Heart Chakra, filling the area with love and peace. Visualize the energy field turning into the color green. Let this energy flow to your Throat Chakra and as it reaches the energy center, notice a ball of blue light forming. Concentrate on your artistic endeavors and self-expression. The energy will then reach your forehead, in between your eyebrows, where the Third Eye Chakra is located. The energy becomes purple as it fills this area, increasing your psychic abilities and intuitions. Finally, the energy field would turn into white as it reaches your Crown Chakra. This energy shall connect your energy with the rest of the universe providing you with wisdom, knowledge and spiritual development.

After concentrating on your seven chakras, individually, you can conclude your chakra meditation by visualizing your whole body glowing with all the energy colors. The combination creates a rainbow throughout your body with a beam of white light crowning your head. Breathe deeply several times and once you are ready, open your eyes as wide as possible and feel the energy revitalize yourself physically, mentally and spiritually.


One Comment on "Chakra Meditation"

  1. Meditation: How it works and the Benefits You Will Get | Eternal Clarity on Sat, 17th Jan 2009 11:07 am 

    […] that you are doing everything correctly. You’ll even learn of the different types, like the chakra meditation, and so on. (0) Comments Read […]

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.